Privatize and Unprivatize Attendee Chat

Modified on Mon, 19 Apr 2021 at 03:10 PM

Privatizing Chat


Privatizing messages can serve many purposes. First, let's see what privatizing means.


When attendees chat, by default everyone can see everyone's messages. But there is some time that you need to privatize messages. Those could be,

  1. You are running a webinar for the first time (or you are new to webinars) and you may be doing mistakes. Or else, there could be technical difficulties because you are not familiar with the platform. In such cases, if everyone starts complaining you may get stressed and the attendees may get negative impressions. It can be best managed by privatizing the messages. It isolates messages to each attendee individually. You can respond to each by using personal messaging
  2. In a webinar, you may need to ensure attendees are focusing on the presentation rather than focusing on each others' communication. In this situation, you need to privatize the chat on the fly
  3. You can easily focus on individual questions during a Q&A session (if you are not using the Q&A module) by privatizing the chat
  4. An attendee or set of attendees start to send abusive messages

On any of those occasions, your best option is privatizing attendee chat.



USE THIS FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Enabling Privatization


You can enable privatization in two ways.


  1. When you create an event, in the Settings section, you can enable the following
  2. When you are in a webinar room, you can privatize and unprivatize on the fly



Even though attendee chat can be privatized, organizer/presenter messages in the attendee chat are global (anyone can see)




Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons

Feedback sent

We apprciate your effort and will try to fix the article